Furious Fiction is a short story workout for a writer!
I hope you enjoy this CGSP Short Story that was entered in a recent FURIOUS FICTION.

 

All of my family were out there. I could see them through a small crack that I wedged open in the door. They’re waiting for me. Sweat trickled down the back of my neck as I paced the small back room of the large church. This event wouldn’t get started until I went out in front of all those people.

I know I shouldn’t be afraid of my own family and friends, but this wasn’t just an everyday event. It was an ending. Or a beginning, depending on how you wanted to look at it. All we knew was coming to an end; there wasn’t any way around it.

Of course, I could always leave and not deal with it all. I could Jump over the chairs, and head for the large doors at the back of the room. I shook my head, quickly discarding the idea, and turned back to my earrings on the small table. If I was going out there, I was going to look my best.

My hands shaking, I attempted to poke one through my right ear. The sweat was all over my hands now, and I tried to wipe one hand on my clothes. The earring flipped out of my hand and rolled under the table. Groaning, I shuffled onto my knees and narrowed my eyes as I searched for the small, pearl earring.

 

>>>Get all the info about my book with my NEWSLETTER

 

“Aha!” I yelled out loud as I spotted it, wedged between the back, table leg, and the wall. I yanked it free and stood to my feet, slipping it into my ear.
“Susan, are you ready?” My cousin Emily asked through the door. “We’re all waiting for you to start this thing.”
I sighed. “Just a minute Emily,” I said.
Great; it was time now.

How was I going to do this? How was I going to honour the man out there? Nothing I could ever say could portray my feelings about him. I felt for the notes in my pocket, then nodded and sucked in a deep breath. I was going to do this service; no matter what.

As I got myself together, I opened the door and smiled at Emily. She cut the lights to the room behind me, and we walked closer to the doors. I listened quietly for my queue. As I walked towards the front of the church, the butterflies pounded in my chest and stomach. I wasn’t used to being in front of a crowd like this.

As I finally made my last step towards the pastor at the front, he gave me a wink. I turned and stared at the man who I wanted to honour; my groom.

~

Furious Fiction is a fun story competition to stretch yourself and write less than 500 words in 55 hours. This story was to take place in either a wedding, or a funeral. I wanted to try and get BOTH as a possibility as you were reading; right up until the very end.


If you want to enter Furious Fiction, check out the
AWC website for all the details. 

See You in The Adventures


CGSP Sign Up to the NEWSLETTER (1)


You can check out my blog feed for all the CGSP posts, stories and more >>>here
To KEEP UP with all the stuff I have going on, you can catch my weekly updates, FREE Hannah Carmichael eBook, & monthly NEWSLETTER by heading >>>here

4 responses to “Ready (Furious Fiction) | CGSP Short Story”

  1. I really liked this. I was definitely compelled to keep reading! I love how you write from right inside the character’s head. I enter Furious Fiction too. It’s great! 😊

    Like

    1. Christy Grace Scarlet Pen Avatar
      Christy Grace Scarlet Pen

      Thanks Jess! I’m so glad you enjoyed 🙂
      Furious Fiction is such a great stretch of the creative juices! Did you enter this month?

      Like

      1. I did! I’ve entered for 13 months in a row now. I really look forward to it. Good luck if you entered this month too!

        Like

      2. Christy Grace Scarlet Pen Avatar
        Christy Grace Scarlet Pen

        That’s awesome! I’ve been doing it for about a year and a half, but I tend to miss a few months. Unfortunately I didn’t this month, but I’ll look out to see yours! 😀 Good luck

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trending